My Favorite Weekend


I meant to get this posted much earlier today… But better late than never – isn’t that how the saying goes?

At least I have a legitimate excuse this time: yesterday was Thanksgiving (helped make some food, ate, drank, was merry) and today I spent the day at my parents’ house hanging lights, decorating, baking, and watching football.

I’ve been looking forward to this weekend since the middle of September when the air started to get a small bite of chill in it.  I started listening to Christmas music around then, in secret mostly because Cullen disapproves… like most people.  (Note: I understand the belief that Christmas music should never be heard before Thanksgiving, I just don’t hold that belief.  Never have.)

My parents hosted the wonderful feast yesterday.  Some of our extended family were able to make it up, but it was a much smaller group than the usual Thanksgiving bustle (only 11 this year!).  Having just finished re-reading HP7, I was happy to find the Deathly Hallows movies on TV and my parents and I watched Part 1 & Part 2 after everyone left.

Today, Black Friday, marks the first day that it is socially acceptable to listen to Christmas music.  I’ve been taking full advantage.  My dad and I listened to Elvis and Jimmy Buffett while we put the lights on the house (as per tradition); I had Bing Crosby and Harry Connick Jr playing during the TV ads of the Apple Cup (UW vs WSU); the Christmas channel was on while Mom and I made/decorated sugar cookies, then started putting up winter decorations around the house.  Tomorrow, Cullen and I are going to my grandparents’ house to help decorate, put up their tree, and have dinner – a relatively recent tradition.

I might be 22, but some childhood traditions don’t need to change to still make me happy.

A few well-deserved thanks:

  • Cullen – for your affection, humor, and encouragement.
  • Mom and Dad – for your inexhaustible love and support.
  • Friends, brothers, sisters-in-law, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins – for showing your interest in me and my goings-on by asking about Cullen, my job, this blog, and my book.

You all make me feel so loved.  Thank you.

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Weekend

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I didnt know there was such a belief. Why cant Christmas music be listened to before Thanksgiving?

    • jmwalker17 says:

      Thanks for dropping by to comment – I know lots of people that don’t/can’t appreciate Christmas music until after Thanksgiving because it’s not the right “season” =) I listen to it year-round!

Leave Feedback!

