Welcome Back, November


How dearly I’ve missed thee.

If you’ll remember, I wrote an ode to November last year as an assignment in my creative writing class in the last quarter of undergrad.  If you feel so inclined, it can be read and enjoyed again here.

fall hiking
Part of the trail we hiked last weekend near Anacortes, WA. Not in November, but still plenty fall-ish.
fall trees
Wonderful roots with autumn colors. Good inspiration for the forest in my book.

As you might have guessed at first glance, this post isn’t going to ramble or carry on much today – partly because I failed to plan anything extensive, but mostly because I’ve had plenty of other things to fill my creative mind and free time.

Currently:

  • Cullen and I are working on a 3000 piece puzzle of an old-world style map; Latin included.  It has taken over our kitchen table.  I’ll post pictures soon.
  • I’ve been writing more for the book and thinking constantly of details of the geography and culture of the people of Evruse.  Confused?  Click here.
  • Work’s going very well, I feel I’ve got the hang of it now – but to keep me on my toes, we have a big huge trade show next week and 16 people from the office are going to Chicago for it.  I’m a little nervous about being one of the only survivors left around here to answer phones and such.
  • Cullen and I are planning another trip to Portland this weekend (we’re gonna take the train!) to celebrate one of my cousin’s birthdays.  We’re also celebrating his promotion and impending move to Georgia with his wonderful ladyfriend!
  • I’m starting to get nervous that I can’t think of any gift ideas for Christmas.  I realize that this thought is slightly ridiculous, considering the big day is well over a month away, but I like to start thinking about things now… even though I don’t generally wrap the gifts until the night of the 24th while watching The Muppet Christmas Carol.  Oh, now I’m all excited for Christmas!!  Darn that music I’ve been listening to.  (Slightly related: I don’t like to end sentences with prepositions, but ‘darn that music of which I’ve been listening’ sounds pretty silly.  Cullen says I’m a dork.  True enough.)

Lots of pictures to come next week, and maybe some writing exercises to bring me more into the swing of things with other types of writing (creative non-fic, poetry, fiction other than fantasy etc).

Happy Friday!

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Writing Process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave Feedback!

