Adventourous Weekend


Cullen and I went to Bellingham this past Sunday to see the Tesla Coil at the Spark Museum of Electrical Invention.  The museum got front page of the Seattle Times last week with the new Tesla coil and Faraday cage, so naturally, we wanted to check it out.  The artifacts in the museum section were awesome (we were even allowed to touch/play with some!) and the performance for the Tesla coil was wonderful.  I highly recommend the trek to Bellingham if you’re in the area and can spare a few dollars!

Cullen snapped this picture during the show.

I’ve also uploaded two videos of the 4 million volts hitting the Tesla cage; to see them click here and here.

In other news, we went hiking (/walking… it wasn’t very treacherous).  After over an hour in the car on the drive up, sitting around in my favorite bookstore for a few hours, then sitting at the museum for the Tesla show, our legs were aching for a walk in the woods.  We went a few miles south of Bellingham to Squire Lake, just off of I-5.

Starting off with plenty of rain to keep us company.

The loop was just over two miles long and we only saw five other people (and a dog!) in the ~90 minutes we were on the trails.  By the end, we had decided to play hiking bingo: we’d seen a frog, a dog, mushrooms growing on a tree, three deer, a beaver pond, some scary

The froggy Cullen almost stepped on as he hopped across our path.

dark parts of the trail, a tiny dam on a tiny lake (Squire), a park bench, a tiny bridge over a tiny stream, and many many sign posts.  Probably have black-out bingo by now!

Most of the leaves on the paths were yellow, but in some parts where the wind had come up, hordes of still-green leaves were scattered down among the shoots of ripe green grass.  The walk made me think of a few scenes in Lord of the Rings – especially when some of the trees seemed to wave at us in the blustery weather.  As the light began to fade in the late afternoon, the covering trees darkened our path and made the woods surrounding us seem even more ominous.  It was awesome.

I had such a vivid picture in my mind for the forest region in my book by the end of the hike that I was desperate to write the ideas down before they fled.  Sadly, I hadn’t even thought to bring my journal with me (who does that?!), so I resorted to using Cullen as a soundboard for my brainstorming.  Even now, a few days later, I can’t get the image of the creaking, moss-covered trees out of my mind.  I suppose it’s quite a good thing though.  It means that my experiences that give me ideas for the book are strong enough to make me keep thinking about them for days after.

This coming weekend, Cullen and I are going to visit my parents on Whidbey Island and have already planned a few hiking ideas for Deception Pass.  Now that I know how much fun – and how pretty! – a hike in the rain and cold can be, I can barely wait to do another.

Now, for some more pictures:

Giant creaky trees looking down on us.

Our path ahead, paralleling the west bank of the lake.

One of my favorite pictures from the whole day.

Misty fog making the woods feel like the Forbidden Forest.

On the lookout for wandering hobbits and elves.

Little section of Beaver Pond

What was a black abyss from our perspective became light and cheery when the flash of the camera went off.

The fog was rolling in above and all around us…

Not sure how the camera managed to light up the sky so much; in reality it was MUCH darker than this looking across the lake.

Loved seeing the raindrops patter on the surface of the water.

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave Feedback!

