Change of Pace


First, the number of views on Tuesday’s post was wonderful.  I hope people had a chance to check out Kiva.org.  Go here to see what the hype’s all about.

Second, I was talking recently with Cullen about my plan for the book in relation to this blog and he asked some really good (and kinda scary) questions:

  • Are you going to keep writing the book and posting everything?
  • What happens when you finish the book and most/all of it is on the blog?
  • How long is the book going to be and do you even have a secure plot line?

Okay, that last one wasn’t totally him, that was me starting to freak a little bit.

But I’ve come up with a solution – something that a few of you might not like too much at first because it has to do with restricting posts about the book…

Instead of continuing to post every piece of writing I have for the book, I’m going to get back into doing some poetry and creative non-fiction (posts about Athens, hopefully!), and possibly try my hand at some short stories.  When I really got going with this blog last fall, a lot of my inspiration came from the creative writing class I was taking in my last quarter at WWU.  I want to learn and experiment with new poetry forms, review some non-fiction techniques, and I want to feed that curiosity and motivation I discovered last year and see where it will take me.

Don’t worry – I’m not actually stealing anything. Yet.

Third, in other news, my job is going really well!  I haven’t worked in accounting since 2008, but not much changes when you’re dealing with numbers in accounts receivable and alphabetically filing the invoices.  I’ve also been learning how to post payments, run checks, and code invoices.  Best part: I have my own cubical and all the office supplies you could ever want.  Also, I get home before 6pm every night.  So happy.

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Non-Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave Feedback!

