New Job, New Perspective


Well I feel sheepish.  I should clarify to those of you who may have seen a half-written post and been a bit confoozed – my postings for yesterday and today got a little mixed up during the publishing process yesterday morning.  Extreme frustration ensued, as Cullen witnessed, for about five minutes, but I knew my only choice was to fix what I could and move on.  Now things are good again.

Some housekeeping and updates:

  • On Friday, I posted my third excerpt from the book I’m writing.  I got some great feedback and questions that helped me think more about my work and improve upon what I already have.  The more often I write, the more excited I am to be writing.
  • On Saturday, I posted a short blog about Harry Potter.  I was feeling a bit nostalgic for my childhood and thinking about the Hogwarts Express, but also hoping the blurb would bring more traffic to my site.  Boy (who lived), did it ever.  My previous record for views in a day had been 67.  By the time 11:59pm came around on Saturday, I’d hit 369.  I’m still a bit fuzzy-headed from the amount of traffic, but incredibly happy.  Unrelated: Cullen and I worked on a map for the book!  Still fixing it up, but I’ll scan and post it soon.
  • Yesterday was Labor Day in the US, so Cullen and I recognized the day by sleeping late, watching Harry Potter 7, reading (see book list), taking naps, then watching Batman Begins and the Dark Knight.  Couple of happy campers right here.
  • Today, I start my new job!  I worked as a part-time swim instructor for 7 months, but I have been in contact with the other company and hoping for a position with them since April when I responded to their job listing and got an interview.  They put their hiring process on hold for the summer to re-examine their needs, but I kept emailing (badgering, you pick the verb) them so they knew I was still VERY interested.  I have 8 months of job hunting/applying/interviewing experience now and my biggest piece of advice for anyone still on the hunt is this: if you find something you really want, something you know you’ll be good at, don’t take no for an answer.  As Ze Frank would say, “CHASE THAT HAPPY!”  My new position is in the accounting department, which a few people have made comments about (aren’t you a Classics major? – how will you make time to write?), and I’m as excited as a kid on Christmas eve and confident that the job will make many things in my life easier and a lot more organized.

Next post: Friday, September 7 – new writing from my book!

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Goal Setting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave Feedback!

