Define and Rewind


Hiatus: a pause or gap in a sequence, series, or process.

So it’s come to this now: my confessions.  I’ve been away from writing, especially here on the blog, for so long that I can barely remember how to start.  I have piles of halfhearted beginnings in my draft box; I have pages in my journal that look so lonely with just a few lines filled up…

I’ve allowed myself to find any excuse possible to avoid publishing to this page.  Even with such wonderful support from family and friends (and even strangers!), I still have stupid little lines running through my head —
“It’s been since February! Why post now?”
“You don’t even have a target audience; you’d just be babbling to the whole damn interwebs.  Where’s the sense in that?”
“YOU HAVE NOTHING TO WRITE ABOUT!”
etc.etc.

Rewind now.  I’ll try again to commit to posting more of my work.  I started working on a book idea in March of this year and I’ve been flooded with plans for the book ever since.  Problem is, I haven’t been writing much because I have the illogical fear that if I write down an idea, it has to be perfect because I’ll never be able to edit/change/fix it – EVER.  Like I said, very illogical.  I’ve allowed myself to get stuck in my fear.  Things are looking up now though.  I’ll keep you posted.

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Goal Setting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Define and Rewind

  1. Devon Hay says:

    Interwebs. :)

  2. verasilver says:

    “I have the illogical fear that if I write down an idea, it has to be perfect because I’ll never be able to edit/change/fix it”

    I have the same illogical thought somehow. When I am thinking of how to start a chapter, I think for hours on end even if it’s just something simple.. like my character walks through a door.

    Anyway, I wish you loads of luck with your writing. I’m sure you have tonnes of good ideas. Get them into a story! :)

    • jmwalker17 says:

      Thanks so much for the support! It’s good to know that I’m not alone with this silly fear of publication – maybe we can help each other get over it! I’m following your blog now and I’ve read a couple of your posts… looking forward to many more =)

Leave Feedback!

