Word Game in a Poem


This blog has been in the works for over a year – initially, I planned on discussing my experiences with Greek and Latin here, which I may still do, but I have now found a different focus.  (For more information, see the “About” page.)  So we’re off and running, or waddling as the case may be, or limping or chugging; pick your favorite participle.  I wrote this poem over two weeks ago as the first work for my Intro to Creative Writing course.  The class will only focus on poetry and creative non-fiction, but this blog – because of NaNoWriMo – will also bring in my own experiments with fiction.

If you know the rule of the game this poem plays off of, feel free to leave an example in the comments – but please don’t give away the riddle!

I Like Coffee But I Don’t Like Tea

One more morning, I need caffeine –
no jasmine blossom for me,
nor your weak Earl Grey.
“Give me a double Americano,
hand over a black Columbian drip.
Every hour, more caffeine –
No London fog,
nor your chai or green;
Gimme a large cappuccino – no,
a grande mocha, added whip please.”

I see Darjeeling, ginger peach, chamomile…
You ask kindly,
“Would you like a cup of English breakfa-”
“Coffee only!” I nearly yell,
“No herbal or acai berry;
an espresso will do.
Quickly now, I’m running behind.”
No delays, you hurriedly work
and finish my drink.

However, I should apologize;
my behavior, improper, horrid.
You deserve calm and composure
from me, a consumer.

Coffee is my downfall.
I’ll leave some change in your jar.

About jmmack

Full-time swim coach and pool program manager in the Seattle area. Swimmer, writer, cross-stitcher, HP fan, wife, sister, auntie of two nephews, human to a feisty Jack-Russell mix.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Word Game in a Poem

  1. Willy says:

    I like Niehaus, Fairly and even Rick Rizzs,
    Please no Franklin, or Edgar, whose names rhyme hizzs.
    An Ichiro bobblehead rocks my world,
    Hell no Mickey or Babe, who make me hurl.
    Bob Gibson chucked smoke and made me grin,
    When he K’d Yaz, I loved seeing him win.
    I’ve been all over ball fields in all my long long days,
    And second base is my only place I’ll ever ever play.
    And Umpire. I’ll always ump if you need me.

Leave Feedback!

